Author Spotlight ~ Kathleen Brooks

As an Australian, our impressions of the United States of America are more than likely formed from watching TV and movies. I have always been intrigued and fascinated with ‘The South’. The homeyness of the small towns, the friendliness of the residents and cowboys…..PHEW!!

I found Kathleen’s first book, ‘Bluegrass State of Mind’, when I first discovered e-books. It was a freebie and when I read that it was set in the South, I immediately downloaded it and I read it in one sitting. She had me hooked from the beginning with her witty, funny and suspenseful characters and dialogue. I was transported into her fictional town of Keeneston and she had me believing that this unique town was very much real.

The first series features three books, Bluegrass State of Mind, Risky Shot and Dead Heat. With the success of these books, Kathleen followed up with the Bluegrass Brothers series. This meant more wonderful and entertaining stories from Keeneston and also a close up look of all the Davies brothers! I’m still waiting for Kathleen to tell me where I can find a family filled with smart, funny and totally sexy brothers!

Kathleen, a NY Times Best Selling Author, is wrapping up the Keeneston series (for now anyway) with her new release Final Vow. This story has the ever popular Ahmed as it’s main man. Ahmed almost has a cult following and I know many Bluegrass series fans who have been waiting a long time to see ‘their’ Ahmed get a book all of his own!

Kathleen graciously let me ask her some questions and I hope you all enjoy reading her responses.

EF – What or who was your inspiration to start writing?

KB – I was inspired by a lot of different things. Like most writers, I’m and avid reader. Reading contemporary romances inspired me-they had the courage to do it, so could I. Even before that though it was Murder, She Wrote. I watched it when I was seven years old and loved the mystery. It was then that I started coming up with stories in my head. However, it wasn’t until I finished school, had a job, and a baby that I took a chance on this dream that I couldn’t get out of my head. It was about what a fashionable woman from New York City would think about being transplanted to a tinny Kentucky town. With encouragement from my husband, I started writing Bluegrass State of Mind.

EF – How did you feel when you published your first book? Did you have any doubts or regrets?

KB – I remember sitting there and staring at the submit button. I was filled with complete nervous excitement. I still get that same feeling every time I publish.

Of course I had doubts. What if no one read it? What if no one liked it? But it meant so much to me that it was more fun than anything. Keeneston and its residents were like family to me and I couldn’t stop until the whole story was told. Now, as I publish Final Vow, all I feel is excitement and definitely no doubt or regrets.

EF – Are you a planner or a pantser?

KB – A bit of both. I have an overall plan for the series and for how each book fits into ti. But then the scenes and the dialog are all by the seat of my pants.

EF – Do you have any particular rituals that you do before/during/after writing a book?

KB – Before, I have a notebook that I sit down and think about the mystery of the book and I lay out a rough outline of where I want the story to go, who the characters are, what they look like and so on.

While I write, I listen to music. You’ll always find me in my office with my headphones on.

After the story is written, I go on a book binge and read as many books as possible in a week.

EF – Is there anything you do in particular if you get stuck writing a scene?

KB – Yes, I completely step away. I’ll watch Pride & Prejudice, Persuasion, or Lost in Austen. Or I’ll read a historical romance. The point is for me to be swept into a completely different world and to get lost in it for a bit. Usually when I’ve watched or read something else, I can take a new look at my scene and work through it.

EF – I love that you don’t always write about what happens behind closed doors, Was there any reason in particular why you decided to do this?

KB – It just felt write for these character. This town is a mix of times past and hope for the future, so it just didn’t seem to fit. My next series kicks that heat level up some, but always with heart.

EF – What are you currently working on?

KB – I’m working on Chosen for Power, which is the first book in my new Women of Power series. Readers are able to get an extended sneak peek of Ella and Drake’s story in Dancing Beneath the Mistletoe, which is part of the Hot, Sexy & Bad box set.

EF – Do you have a particular workspace or can/do you write anywhere and everywhere?

KB – I work in my office the most, but I can work anywhere at anytime. I can work in a car line while waiting to pick my daughter up from school. I can work on planes or even in bed at night.

EF – Who, out of your male heroes, would you like to a) Get frisky with & b) Marry?

KB – All of them or any of them…..I can’t pick a favourite. I love them all!

EF – What one piece of advice would you like to have known before and after you first published?

KB – Learn from reviews, but don’t obsess over them. Many people online will use overly harsh tones because they want attention. But if you can dissect what they are really saying, then you can experience some genuine growth as an author.

And to finish up….five quick questions!

EF – What is your favourite snack food to munch on while writing?

KB – M&M’s

EF – Your favourite activity to do when you aren’t writing?

KB – Reading!

EF – Name one place you would like visit but have not as yet?

KB – Australia & New Zealand

EF – What is one thing about you that few people would know?

KB – I have my second-degree black belt in karate.

EF – What is your favourite quote?

KB – “Courage, in the end those who do not succeed are those who do not try” – Unknown.

Thank you so much to Kathleen for taking the time to answer my questions.


FinalVowCover

Final Vow will be released on January 20th, 2014.  This is the last book in the Bluegrass Brothers Series.

Kathleen’s book series are –

  • Bluegrass Series
  • Bluegrass Brothers Series
  • Women of Power Series (coming in April 2014)

The first book in BOTH series are FREE on Amazon.com.

Kathleen also has this series on Audible.com and is my most favourite audiobook series. Her narrator is perfect!

Kathleen can be found at –

KathleenBrooks.com

Amazon Page

Facebook

Twitter

GIVEAWAY

Visit my FACEBOOK PAGE for details on how to win a copy of Kathleen’s new release, ‘Final Vow’.

2 thoughts on “Author Spotlight ~ Kathleen Brooks

  1. Ladies that was lovely – very excited for Ahmed’s story – also now excited for Women of Power Series – Kathleen think you should come to London with Melody in April 🙂 thank you for a wonderful series and the amazing and amusing sisters 🙂

Leave a Reply

